Habanna Restaurant – Spaghetti Aglio Olio


Habanna Restaurant, started out life in Melaka, before they moved over to PJ in 2018. And I think PeeJayans are all the richer for it. Their main dishes would be grilled meats but Habanna Restaurant serves a very good spaghetti too. Take note that this is a NON-HALAL restaurant.

What makes good spaghetti for me?

Al-Dente
It has to be al-dente, which means the texture of the noodle would be on the firm side. Some might even think it’s undercooked but that’s how spaghetti is supposed to be served, and that is how I like it.

Aglio Olio
For the purpose of review, I would usually have it as a Spaghetti Aglio Olio. That way, I have a similar comparison. The variance to the Aglio Alio would be through the seasoning or meats that they put to it. Bacon would be my favourite. Fresh seafood would score highly too. Plain without any meat usually doesn’t work for me, unless it’s an excellently cooked plate of pasta.

So it was with that in mind, I had the Spicy Spaghetti Aglio Olio at Habanna restaurant. The spaghetti is done almost perfectly al-dente. The difference, says JT Ong – the proprietor of Habanna Restaurant, says it’s in the size of the spaghetti he uses. That’s something I should take note of.

habanna_restaurant_spaghetti_aglio_olio_02

habanna_restaurant_spaghetti_aglio_olio_01

The seasoning over the spaghetti – SPICY! Topped with garlic and bacon, the Spicy Spaghetti Aglio Olio will leave you with a warm feeling. At RM18.90+ per plate, it’s just slightly below the average price of RM22.90+ per serving. But their serving is larger than many places that charge more.

Habanna Restaurant

23, Jalan 20/13,
Taman Paramount,
46300 Petaling Jaya,
Selangor

Opens Daily
12:00 pm – 09:00 pm

NON-HALAL

Leave a comment